Construction Plant Competence Scheme (CPCS)

A card scheme to prove the skills of plant operators.

CPCS is the largest and most highly recognised card scheme for the plant industry. It helps to prove workers' operating skills and health and safety awareness. The Construction Plant Competence Scheme (CPCS) provides a single skills card for the plant sector of the construction industry.

The CPCS Technical Test:

  • A new core element which applies across all categories and routes of entry and will replace the Intermediate Certificate (the current training and testing element for the red Trained Operator card route of entry into the Scheme).
  • Two parts, a practical test of ability and a theory test (which incorporates questions relating to underpinning knowledge, specific category and environment related H&S, and Operators rights and responsibilities).
  • Supported by a training syllabus, against which training can be tailored to meet individual requirements through a variety of channels including accredited CPCS Trainers, training providers, in-house trainers and colleagues.
  • The S/NVQ will only need to be passed once for a family of categories (grouped into a unit), so if an individual has an NVQ in a 360 excavator below 10 tonnes, if they pass a further CPCS Technical Test on a 180 excavator below 5 tonnes they will automatically be awarded the blue Competent Operator card.

All CPCS scheme information is available at:


Health, Safety & Enviroment Test:


Setting Out Video :